Balcas Energy Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,656 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 120,000 tonnes and 60,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

energy@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 9th February 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 26th January 2022
Martin O
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 17th January 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 13th January 2022
John F
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 7th November 2017
Carney T
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 21st June 2017
Trevor R
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 23rd April 2017
Ian S
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Balcas provide a very friendly and prompt customer service, all the way from order to delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Stuart, Thanks for your kind words! We are delighted you had a great experience with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Very good quality pellets.great heat out of them.great service.highly recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Brian, We are delighted you are satisfied with your wood pellets. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
I have been ordering from Balcas energy for some time now. The bagged wood pellets are good quality and at a great price. Delivery has always been ontime. I would not hesitate to recommend Balcas Energy.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for the awesome review, Sarah! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely first class service Much better product Than all the others they produce a lot less ash so are more cost effective.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Keven, Thank you so much for the feedback! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
I asked if Balcas could empty and clean my pellet store between Christmas and New Year since we had a problem with the pellet delivery system (Vacuum) that need an engineer to fix the problem. We had no heat or hot water. They said it could only be done towards the summer. I was very disappointed with their response. I have since moved to a more customer-friendly supplier.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Paul, We are very sorry you had issues with your wood pellet boiler. Due to the combination of the time of year being our busiest time and Covid impacts we didn't have the people available to fulfill your request. We can offer service plans for customers through local service companies we work with but obviously didn't have anything like this in place for you. It is obviously a bad time for your boiler to break down but we hope we can work with you again in the future. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Easy to order and fast efficient delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks so much for your great feedback. We are delighted you had a great experience with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
I'm really angry that once again you've allowed me to run out. I put in my order 10 days ago to ensure no holiday period problems. Apparently no one scheduled a delivery. So now we face new year with dodgy supplies - in our seventies - in a pandemic. Still no delivery date. Like I say I'm really angry.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hit and miss: When we do get a delivery the drivers are good and helpful. Speedy delivery in October 2020 then made another order 6 January 2021...order confirmation said delivery by 20 January but still waiting for any confirmation on 26 January. Nice people reply to my emails but no progress and no attempts at customer service or communications from Balcas...always for me to chase with no commitment to a delivery date it is all very frustrating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jo. Sorry to hear this. We have received your note. I've been told by my colleagues in Customer Support that they spoke to you yesterday in regards to your delivery, The Scheduling team informed me that they expect to have the delivery with you on Friday. We always aim to deliver on time and even before the expected time, we are sorry it happened on this occasion. Thanks, Monica.
Posted 1 year ago
The five stars are for Richard, our delivery driver, who as always went above & beyond. If I could, I'd put 1 star for the company though. Like everyone here, the takeover has been less than okay. As a comparison, with Forever Fuels, you placed your order, could select a delivery date to suit, would receive a notification, almost immediately with a confirmed delivery date and payment was on account, as quantities were not completed until the day. Thus, you paid for the actual amount delivered, sometimes less, sometimes more. With Balcas, I placed the order, was required to pay immediately, received a confirmation of possible dates (which incidentally they failed to meet) and then a final notification of less than 24 hours before the actual delivery date. In summary, five stars for Richard, one at best for Balcas. Balcas, please note this and sort out your systems and admin. It makes all the difference to the customer experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Happy with all aspects of the service, cheers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you so much, Mary! :) So happy when our customers are happy! Monica
Posted 2 years ago
My one star is not for Forever Fuels but for Balcas since they've taken over. Placed my on line order on 24th Jan. Had the usual "thank you for your order email" but then no follow up email with a confirmed date. I phoned them on 28th Jan to be told my delivery was scheduled for Tuesday 5th Feb. I asked if I should do anything now due to the second confirmation email not arriving and the lady told me everything was ok and booked in for that day. After waiting in all day and having no delivery I called them at 3pm and was told there's no one available to deal with my order and that I'd get a call back. I asked if it would be on that day and was told yes. Needless to say no call was received. I've now been told my delivery is due on 7th or 8th Feb but I'm not holding my breath and if it doesn't arrive I shall be without fuel and they will be without my future custom! Very unreliable and that's not what you need when you rely on this fuel for the running of your home.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Got a call from the driver prior to delivery, I was in London, he was delivering to my home in North Devon, the delivery is complicated, I messaged him instructions, all went very well indeed, polite, efficient, excellent! Thank you.
Helpful Report
(Avonmouth) - Posted 3 years ago
Reliable an efficient friendly service!
Helpful Report
(Avonmouth) - Posted 3 years ago
As always the delivery driver Gary (who is the immediate face to your company) was superb. He is always exceptionally helpful, efficient and polite. He has gone "the extra mile" to ensure we did not run out of pellets. I cannot see a box for unhappy so I'll put it here. FF used to be very responsive in confirming a delivery shortly after I asked for it to be scheduled on line. Now I hear nothing until the very last minute to confirm that you will be able to deliver on the requested date. This makes me very nervous. This time we are under a week from the requested date and had still heard nothing. If it wasn't for Gary I am not sure that we wouldn't have run out and still heard nothing. In addition it seems very bad planning that I couldn't even get a pallet of pellets from you as a stop gap as they were marked out of stock on line.
Helpful Report
(Okehampton) - Posted 3 years ago
Delivery excellent. Office as bit all over the placed
Helpful Report
(Okehampton) - Posted 3 years ago
As always Vic the delivery man kept us in picture and loaded the hopper with his normal efficiency and cheer! Thanks Norry Boulting
Helpful Report
(East Kilbride) - Posted 3 years ago
Delivery process was perfect. Date was pre-arranged by email, driver then contacted me the night before and again an hour before arriving. Delivery itself was efficiently done and I was back to work within an hour. Can't fault it at all.
Helpful Report
(East Kilbride) - Posted 3 years ago
Very efficient service, with excellent communication, and on time as usual
Helpful Report
(East Kilbride) - Posted 3 years ago
Ordering is easy, service is great, and Gary the delivery guy is very accommodating
Helpful Report
(Okehampton) - Posted 3 years ago
We were empty and I’m they arrived
Helpful Report
(Avonmouth) - Posted 3 years ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.73 based on 1,656 reviews