Balcas Energy Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,656 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 120,000 tonnes and 60,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

energy@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 9th February 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 26th January 2022
Martin O
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 17th January 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 13th January 2022
John F
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 7th November 2017
Carney T
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 21st June 2017
Trevor R
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 23rd April 2017
Ian S
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We get 3tons bulk.Very good quality pellets,good delivery driver and great office team.Thankyou.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi David, it’s always amazing to hear that we’ve been successful in our goal of providing our customers with the best possible experience. Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
I found the pellets to be good quality.I get the 10kg baged handy to handle. Balcas provide a great service and I don't have any complaints.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jason, It makes our day to hear that we were able to provide you with 5-star service! Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Very happy with ordering, delivery (to NE Scotland) and most of all quality of pellets which come in easy to handle 10kg bags. The pricing is competitive and we will be ordering again. We have 2 pellet boilers for central heating and a pellet range cooker for heating and cooking.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 13th January 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi John, We’re so happy to hear you had a great experience at Balcas Energy. Our team works very hard to keep our customers happy, but we can only do it thanks to amazing customers like you. Thanks again, and we hope to serve you again soon. Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Keep asking that delivery company ring day before to advise of delivery and driver if possible to give us a bit of notice. Today driver was at house before any phone call and no-one was home. Generally works OK but not always
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Sorry to hear you're having some difficulties with delivery. Our procedure is drivers must call 1 hour before making the delivery. Could you please email me at: pauric.kettyles@balcas.com and we can make a note on your account so you are notified 1 day before? Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
First Class service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jeffery, We are delighted you had a great experience with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Very good customer service. Friendly helpful delivery. Good pricing.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks so much for your excellent feedback. Making our customers happy, makes us happy :) Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
We like the product and the service. We’d love to be able to get our bagged pellets directly from your Invergordon plant as it is only 30 minutes from our home but they only supply loose pellets. Are there any plans to introduce bagged pellets here rather than shipping from Northern Ireland every time? It doesn’t make us feel quite so environmentally friendly. The delivery took quite a bit longer this time due to the Christmas and New Year break - 3 weeks rather than the usual 1 week - and ten of the bags were burst, though with minimal loss of contents.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Glen, Thanks for your kind comments on our wood pellets and service. In regards to getting bagged pellets directly from Invergordon, this is not available as our dedicated bagging plant is in Enniskillen (Northern Ireland). With sea crossing, our carbon footprint from northern Ireland to Scotland is minimized. We are very sorry to hear you had an issue with burst bags. Could you please contact us and we will deal with this query? Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Great service. I've had various drivers deliver to me over the years and each one have been brilliant. No complaints. One suggestion - I get the 3 tonne bulk deliver, have any thoughts been given to instalment payments ? For example pay monthly in advance to reduce the larger payment on delivery. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Paul, Thanks for the great feedback on our wood pellets and delivery drivers. Our customer feedback is very important to us and the point you have made on "installment payments" is noted and something we will look into. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
No, not so much about your product. The problem here in this part of the world is trying to get somebody to service the boiler…trying to find a plumber who knows the first thing about pellet boiler. If the services were better more pellets would be used. There is an element of the Wankel about pellet boilers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Ken, Thanks for the kind feedback on our wood pellets. We can potentially point you in the direction of a service engineer. Please contact me via email - pauric.kettyles@balcas.com Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Pellets are fine, delivery is fantastic. I'v been using Balcas for years because I like the 10kg bags - so much easier to lift than 15kg! Always before I received deliveries with broken and punchured bags on the pallet until I bought direct. We now tend to get the same driver, which helps enormously and there is never any damaged bags
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Carolin, We are delighted you are satisfied with our wood pellets and delivery. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Balcas always delivery ahead of time. Richie most always delivers, and is a pleasure to deal with. We have always had a good experience with Balcas.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much. So happy when our customers are happy! Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Yes, the Pellets are great - But the real plus is the Truck driver that has visited us twice a year for the last number of years in Wexford. He is one of the kindest, and most helpful men, I have ever meet. I don't understand everything he says, but he is a fantastic ambassador for Northern Ireland.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Christian, We are delighted you are happy with the product and delivery of our wood pellets. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent service, fast an efficient, delivery straight to your door.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Catherine, We are delighted you are satisfied with our service. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Fast promt delivery easy to order
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Noeleen, We are very happy when our customers are satisfied. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent supplier, purchased from them on a number of occasions and without hassle. Product (bagged wood pellets) delivered to my door within a few days. As fuel prices increase across the board, Balcas have been proactive in explaining price increases and why. Hoping fuel price decrease again in the future to allow suppliers to again pass on those saving to their customers. Really great customer service from the team at Balcas, would highly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Mike, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us — and we agree, Our customer support team is great! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
We order bagged pellets delivered by pallet, and have always found them to be excellent quality and the local pallet delivery company are really helpful and always call to confirm delivery details. Only once has a pallet been significantly damaged during transit, with the loss of around 5 bags of pellets, for which i quickly received credit back from Balcas. I’ve tried other brands of pellets over the years but none have compared to Brites for their clean burning with minimal ash, so I am a regular return customer now. It’s good to know they are not being shipped from abroad as well. Overall a very pleased customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We’re thrilled that you were satisfied with our services. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to be of help again soon!
Posted 4 months ago
Lovely people, terrific product, excellent service. Why go elsewhere?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Rob, Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet customer expectations and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
I Ordered 3 tons online. The order was delivered within specified time quoted. Driver was courteous and left no mess. Pleased with everything, will order again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Mike, Thanks for the great feedback. We are delighted you are pleased with our wood pellets and the delivery. Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
The staff,customer service and delivery. Price?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for your great feedback. We are delighted you had a good experience with Balcas Energy! Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Super customer service, always someone happy to help, especially when I get my order in to late 😊
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Georgie, Thanks for the great feedback. I couldn't agree more, our customer support team is fantastic! Thanks Pauric
Posted 4 months ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.73 based on 1,656 reviews