Balcas Energy Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,665 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 120,000 tonnes and 60,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

energy@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
BT94 2ES

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 9th February 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 26th January 2022
Martin O
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 17th January 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 13th January 2022
John F
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 7th November 2017
Carney T
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 21st June 2017
Trevor R
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 23rd April 2017
Ian S
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I am extremely happy 😊 with Balcas fuel. Pellets for stove. I Gave them specific dates to deliver only option. 2 different days per week for 3 weeks forward. Delivery was made within a week. Yes we have fully access for lorry around our property. 2nd deliver of un bagged Pellets. Fantastic driver. The price is what it is. NUMBER ONE CHOICE THE Pellets are of higher quality. Less ashes then competitors. The Pellets did not absorb any moisture in 2 years. I got 2 years supply. Usage 20th September to 20th April ish. Usage is 1.75 tonnes. For 2 years. If you want quality buy. I give score 10/10. Easy online order receipt email. Just sat back for delivery. Received with Thanks. Great driver. Worth saying twice. Independent review. Honestly. Regards Seamus
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Best pellets so far
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent product, always the same high quality.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks for your kind words! We are delighted you had a great experience with Balcas Energy.
Posted 7 months ago
Always used Balcas pellets, we have had our system in place since 2007 not without its hic-ups at start when it was all new We are very happy with their service from start of order onsite so you know exactly what you are paying along with informed delivery times, if in emergency situations as we have been caught out at times they do their utmost to deliver as quickly as possible, representatives are always polite and courteous. Delivery Drivers can go above and beyond to provide their service in all manners of weather conditions. It is such a fluctuating market at present and they manage to keep their prices very compatible. I hope soon they will be able to give further incentive discounts to their long term and loyal customers WELL DONE 5*+
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience with Balcas Energy. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Posted 7 months ago
Good price good sales persons delivered within window one week from order Will use again good pellets clean burn hot and well Driver rang twice to keep me informed Well done to all I will be a regular customer One small point three bags were ripped by fork lift driver photographed Great service
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks for your kind words! We are delighted you had a great experience with Balcas Energy.
Posted 7 months ago
Have never had any problems with deliveries or customer service, but the prices being quoted these days do not stack up anymore. With oil prices 0.62p per/ltr and falling, I will have to give serious consideration to switching to an alternative. 12years customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Balcas energy make a song and dance about how they actually make the sawdust from their own trees into these pellets. Why then has the cost risen from around £180 a pallet to well over £500 a pallet? Yes, big industrial users such as generators may be having to pay more but small users - why are they paying such extortionate prices? There is only one answer - as a manufacturer Balcas are taking excess profits (Oil companies have been hit with extra taxes - Balcas are not). There might be of course some additional costs - but nowhere near 300%. Like all the pellet manufacturers absolutely disgraceful action, they should hang their heads in shame. Once people have paid £10,000+ for an eco boiler then we are trapped. Advice to anyone who is thinking of getting a pellet boiler? DO NOT! You will be ripped off by Balcas.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been trying to buy wholesale commercial containers of Wood pellets. I have been dealing with Patrick John on WhatsApp. I keep getting the run around..does he work for your company? Gerry Duncan 226.567.0047
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Gerry, I have checked our CRM system and it seems you are not a customer of Balcas Energy. To place an order, please click on the link below and this will allow you to order online: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop-for-wood-pellets/ If you require more assistance, don't hesitate to get in touch with us by emailing energy@balcas.com or calling:+44 (0) 28 6641 1001 or +44 (0) 1628 509690. Kind Regards, Pauric
Posted 1 year ago
pretty good experience so far. excellent produce but the prices have gone through roof as they have less competition they are just price matching other fuels. As pellet boilers are in the real world not as efficient as oil it is hard to justify pellet boilers on finances alone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If I could give zero stars I would. Had a confirmed date for delivery but they reneged on it as the driver said didn't have time on the day! Nothing to do with shortage of supply but surely whoever scheduled the deliveries could have foreseen this or is it a case of Friday being a finish early day? Order cancelled. To add insult to injury they required me to pay in advance when I ordered three weeks ago , although the money was not taken out of my card it could be unavailable for days. Other companies don't ask for payment in advance Lost customer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Liz, We didn't have a shortage of pellets on the day of your delivery. Unfortunately, we were short of another important part of the supply chain- drivers. We are currently working flat out and our orders remain unusually high. Based on your payment inquiry, that is the payment process when paying with credit cards. We are sorry for the inconvenience this time around. Kind regards, Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Nice company and I’m happy 😊
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are delighted you have had a great experience with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
As a domestic customer, being kept in the dark about when the delivery will be until the day before is utterly poor service. Some of us have to go to work! This company used to be excellent when it was 'Forever Fuels', but since being taken over by Balcas, I have taken my business elsewhere. I am able to book a prompt and reliable delivery with your competitor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Since your last delivery (2019) we have made many changes to our distribution system including customer communications. As you are probably aware there is currently a shortage of wood pellets in the marketplace caused by a shortage of imported pellets (mainly from Russia). As the UK's largest local producer, we are trying to ensure that we can continue to supply our regular customers. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
top quality product and delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Paul, We are delighted you are satisfied with our product and delivery. We hope to serve you again in the near future! Thanks, Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
I asked for my delivery to be delivered on Friday (yesterday) and nothing turned up , which means I’ve no heating system …. It was order a week before this …
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear you did not receive your wood pellet delivery. Delivery to your area is between 7-10 working days (Saturdays & Sundays don't count as working days). You can login into your account to see when your order is out for delivery or contact us and a member of our customer support team will help deal with your query. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Sorry to say I have had to find an alternative supplier! I have been using Balcas from 2007 but the last number of deliveries have been handled poorly. Access to the property requires someone on site, no advance phone call from the delivery driver as requested. This has always been the case and was never a problem previously. As a plus point pellet quality has always been consistently good.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Clive, We are devastated that you have had to find an alternative supplier as your support has been greatly appreciated by Balcas Energy. For all bag deliveries, we use a third-party haulier to deliver our wood pellets. We have taken your information onboard and will investigate this area to prevent this from happening to our customers in your area for future orders. You can also log into our order tracker and see when the pellets have been dispatched. We would like to thank you for your 15 years of support and hope we can gain your backing again in the near future. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Great pellets at great price. We just wish they didn’t come in plastic bags.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Amanda, We are delighted you are satisfied with our pellets and competitive prices. In regards to plastic bags, our bagged wood pellets come in plastic bags to give them protection and insurance that our customers will receive high-quality wood pellets. We have been looking at alternatives but have not yet found one. Perhaps you could consider moving to bulk deliveries that would have zero packaging? Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
The pellets are great but the delivery service is terrible. My pellets were left in the middle of a storm yesterday and noone was home. No communication from the driver to even say they were coming.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Derek, Thank you for your great feedback based on our wood pellets. For all bag deliveries, we use a third-party haulier to deliver our wood pellets and can only apologise for the issues you have encountered. Could you please email energy@balcas.com your area details and we can have a look to see which third-party haulier was involved so we can prevent this for future bag deliveries. You can also log into our customer portal and see our order tracker that will tell you when the product has been sent out for dispatch. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Have been with you since 2006. Have had no issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your kind words and continued support. It is greatly appreciated by everyone at Balcas Energy. Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Hi All ,just to let you know I received my delivery today order no 111717 ac no 19366 ,while I am completely happy wit Balcas Pellets they are 100% When it comes to deliveries there is no communication from your sales service to say pellets have been dispatched to 3rd party delivery driver;or no communication from driver to saywhen he might arrive at destination ;fortunately for my last two deliveries I was at home when delivery arrived. Having said all that because of the quality of your Pellets Iwould still consider giving you my business Regards John
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Joe, We are delighted you’re satisfied with our wood pellets. However, we are very sorry for the issues you have encountered with our third-party haulier service. Could you please email energy@balcas.com your area details and we can have a look to see which third-party haulier was involved so we can prevent this for future bag deliveries. You can also log in to our customer portal and see our order tracker that will tell you when the product has been sent out for dispatch. Thank you for your continued support and we hope to serve you again soon. Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
very good to deal with. no delays in receiving pellets
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Joseph, We are delighted you have had a great experience from start to finish with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 years ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.7 based on 1,665 reviews