Balcas Energy Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,656 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 120,000 tonnes and 60,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

energy@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 9th February 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 26th January 2022
Martin O
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 17th January 2022
Anonymous
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 13th January 2022
John F
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 7th November 2017
Carney T
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 21st June 2017
Trevor R
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 23rd April 2017
Ian S
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If I could give zero stars I would. Had a confirmed date for delivery but they reneged on it as the driver said didn't have time on the day! Nothing to do with shortage of supply but surely whoever scheduled the deliveries could have foreseen this or is it a case of Friday being a finish early day? Order cancelled. To add insult to injury they required me to pay in advance when I ordered three weeks ago , although the money was not taken out of my card it could be unavailable for days. Other companies don't ask for payment in advance Lost customer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Liz, We didn't have a shortage of pellets on the day of your delivery. Unfortunately, we were short of another important part of the supply chain- drivers. We are currently working flat out and our orders remain unusually high. Based on your payment inquiry, that is the payment process when paying with credit cards. We are sorry for the inconvenience this time around. Kind regards, Pauric
Posted 2 weeks ago
Nice company and I’m happy 😊
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We are delighted you have had a great experience with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 months ago
As a domestic customer, being kept in the dark about when the delivery will be until the day before is utterly poor service. Some of us have to go to work! This company used to be excellent when it was 'Forever Fuels', but since being taken over by Balcas, I have taken my business elsewhere. I am able to book a prompt and reliable delivery with your competitor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, Since your last delivery (2019) we have made many changes to our distribution system including customer communications. As you are probably aware there is currently a shortage of wood pellets in the marketplace caused by a shortage of imported pellets (mainly from Russia). As the UK's largest local producer, we are trying to ensure that we can continue to supply our regular customers. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 months ago
top quality product and delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Paul, We are delighted you are satisfied with our product and delivery. We hope to serve you again in the near future! Thanks, Pauric
Posted 2 months ago
I asked for my delivery to be delivered on Friday (yesterday) and nothing turned up , which means I’ve no heating system …. It was order a week before this …
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear you did not receive your wood pellet delivery. Delivery to your area is between 7-10 working days (Saturdays & Sundays don't count as working days). You can login into your account to see when your order is out for delivery or contact us and a member of our customer support team will help deal with your query. Thanks Pauric
Posted 2 months ago
Sorry to say I have had to find an alternative supplier! I have been using Balcas from 2007 but the last number of deliveries have been handled poorly. Access to the property requires someone on site, no advance phone call from the delivery driver as requested. This has always been the case and was never a problem previously. As a plus point pellet quality has always been consistently good.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Clive, We are devastated that you have had to find an alternative supplier as your support has been greatly appreciated by Balcas Energy. For all bag deliveries, we use a third-party haulier to deliver our wood pellets. We have taken your information onboard and will investigate this area to prevent this from happening to our customers in your area for future orders. You can also log into our order tracker and see when the pellets have been dispatched. We would like to thank you for your 15 years of support and hope we can gain your backing again in the near future. Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Great pellets at great price. We just wish they didn’t come in plastic bags.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Amanda, We are delighted you are satisfied with our pellets and competitive prices. In regards to plastic bags, our bagged wood pellets come in plastic bags to give them protection and insurance that our customers will receive high-quality wood pellets. We have been looking at alternatives but have not yet found one. Perhaps you could consider moving to bulk deliveries that would have zero packaging? Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
The pellets are great but the delivery service is terrible. My pellets were left in the middle of a storm yesterday and noone was home. No communication from the driver to even say they were coming.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Derek, Thank you for your great feedback based on our wood pellets. For all bag deliveries, we use a third-party haulier to deliver our wood pellets and can only apologise for the issues you have encountered. Could you please email energy@balcas.com your area details and we can have a look to see which third-party haulier was involved so we can prevent this for future bag deliveries. You can also log into our customer portal and see our order tracker that will tell you when the product has been sent out for dispatch. Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Have been with you since 2006. Have had no issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your kind words and continued support. It is greatly appreciated by everyone at Balcas Energy. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Hi All ,just to let you know I received my delivery today order no 111717 ac no 19366 ,while I am completely happy wit Balcas Pellets they are 100% When it comes to deliveries there is no communication from your sales service to say pellets have been dispatched to 3rd party delivery driver;or no communication from driver to saywhen he might arrive at destination ;fortunately for my last two deliveries I was at home when delivery arrived. Having said all that because of the quality of your Pellets Iwould still consider giving you my business Regards John
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Joe, We are delighted you’re satisfied with our wood pellets. However, we are very sorry for the issues you have encountered with our third-party haulier service. Could you please email energy@balcas.com your area details and we can have a look to see which third-party haulier was involved so we can prevent this for future bag deliveries. You can also log in to our customer portal and see our order tracker that will tell you when the product has been sent out for dispatch. Thank you for your continued support and we hope to serve you again soon. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
very good to deal with. no delays in receiving pellets
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Joseph, We are delighted you have had a great experience from start to finish with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Excellent service, excellent pellets, competitively priced
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Having been using Balcas for number of Years, service is Excellent. Richard our usual delivery Guy is a pleasure to deal with and so professional. There is never an issue that can’t be dealt with. On line is so easy to use and has always turned up within the time frame given Would recommend Balcas Energy to everyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Tom, We are delighted you have had a great experience from start to finish with Balcas Energy. Your comments have been shared with our entire team. When we hear from happy customers like you, we spread positivity around! Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Very helpful as we are 75yrs I like talking on the phone very quick service too Thankyou
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Hazel, Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us — and we agree, our customer support team is great! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service & ordering excellent by phone ( online hitch at the time). I do hope I receive advanced warning so I can prepare for delivery, as last time the vehicle just turned up & fortunately I was in. Otherwise pellets are v.g. quality. P Brierley
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Peter, Thank you so much, It fills us with pride to know that our service is valued by our community. We strive to be the best we can be every day. We have added a note to your account so our third-party haulier calls before making the delivery. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Great service from Balcas. As others have said the delivery company used aren't always as efficient at phoning to arrange the delivery. The occasional bags arrive split - although Balcas also deal with this efficiently.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We’re thrilled that you were satisfied with our services. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to be of help again soon! Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Great service as usual never a problem over the years
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Marion, We are delighted to provide you with 5* service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to serve you again very soon! Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Easy ordering process, helpful staff, pricing good with no add ons and delivery within time given. Will continue to order (if prices stay reasonable).
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We are delighted you have had a great experience from start to finish with Balcas Energy. Thanks Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Efficient service, thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted we could provide you with 5* service. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
I have been using Balcas since 2008 Great company to deal with the drivers are always pleasant and helpful
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 9th February 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hello, Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and uploading a great picture. We currently have a competition running that gives our customers who upload an image of our new truck the chance to win £50. Could you please email: Pauric.kettyles@balcas.com stating your name and we will be in touch on Monday 14th February if you are the chosen winner. Pauric
Posted 3 months ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.73 based on 1,656 reviews