Balcas Energy Reviews

4.75 Rating 1,569 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 100,000 tonnes and 55,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

monica.seceleanu@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road,Enniskillen,County Fermanagh,

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Hit and miss: When we do get a delivery the drivers are good and helpful. Speedy delivery in October 2020 then made another order 6 January 2021...order confirmation said delivery by 20 January but still waiting for any confirmation on 26 January. Nice people reply to my emails but no progress and no attempts at customer service or communications from Balcas...always for me to chase with no commitment to a delivery date it is all very frustrating.
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Jo. Sorry to hear this. We have received your note. I've been told by my colleagues in Customer Support that they spoke to you yesterday in regards to your delivery, The Scheduling team informed me that they expect to have the delivery with you on Friday. We always aim to deliver on time and even before the expected time, we are sorry it happened on this occasion. Thanks, Monica.
Posted 6 months ago
The five stars are for Richard, our delivery driver, who as always went above & beyond. If I could, I'd put 1 star for the company though. Like everyone here, the takeover has been less than okay. As a comparison, with Forever Fuels, you placed your order, could select a delivery date to suit, would receive a notification, almost immediately with a confirmed delivery date and payment was on account, as quantities were not completed until the day. Thus, you paid for the actual amount delivered, sometimes less, sometimes more. With Balcas, I placed the order, was required to pay immediately, received a confirmation of possible dates (which incidentally they failed to meet) and then a final notification of less than 24 hours before the actual delivery date. In summary, five stars for Richard, one at best for Balcas. Balcas, please note this and sort out your systems and admin. It makes all the difference to the customer experience.
Posted 1 year ago
Happy with all aspects of the service, cheers.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you so much, Mary! :) So happy when our customers are happy! Monica
Posted 1 year ago
My one star is not for Forever Fuels but for Balcas since they've taken over. Placed my on line order on 24th Jan. Had the usual "thank you for your order email" but then no follow up email with a confirmed date. I phoned them on 28th Jan to be told my delivery was scheduled for Tuesday 5th Feb. I asked if I should do anything now due to the second confirmation email not arriving and the lady told me everything was ok and booked in for that day. After waiting in all day and having no delivery I called them at 3pm and was told there's no one available to deal with my order and that I'd get a call back. I asked if it would be on that day and was told yes. Needless to say no call was received. I've now been told my delivery is due on 7th or 8th Feb but I'm not holding my breath and if it doesn't arrive I shall be without fuel and they will be without my future custom! Very unreliable and that's not what you need when you rely on this fuel for the running of your home.
Posted 2 years ago
Got a call from the driver prior to delivery, I was in London, he was delivering to my home in North Devon, the delivery is complicated, I messaged him instructions, all went very well indeed, polite, efficient, excellent! Thank you.
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Reliable an efficient friendly service!
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
As always the delivery driver Gary (who is the immediate face to your company) was superb. He is always exceptionally helpful, efficient and polite. He has gone "the extra mile" to ensure we did not run out of pellets. I cannot see a box for unhappy so I'll put it here. FF used to be very responsive in confirming a delivery shortly after I asked for it to be scheduled on line. Now I hear nothing until the very last minute to confirm that you will be able to deliver on the requested date. This makes me very nervous. This time we are under a week from the requested date and had still heard nothing. If it wasn't for Gary I am not sure that we wouldn't have run out and still heard nothing. In addition it seems very bad planning that I couldn't even get a pallet of pellets from you as a stop gap as they were marked out of stock on line.
(Okehampton) - Posted 2 years ago
Delivery excellent. Office as bit all over the placed
(Okehampton) - Posted 2 years ago
As always Vic the delivery man kept us in picture and loaded the hopper with his normal efficiency and cheer! Thanks Norry Boulting
(East Kilbride) - Posted 2 years ago
Delivery process was perfect. Date was pre-arranged by email, driver then contacted me the night before and again an hour before arriving. Delivery itself was efficiently done and I was back to work within an hour. Can't fault it at all.
(East Kilbride) - Posted 2 years ago
Very efficient service, with excellent communication, and on time as usual
(East Kilbride) - Posted 2 years ago
Ordering is easy, service is great, and Gary the delivery guy is very accommodating
(Okehampton) - Posted 2 years ago
We were empty and I’m they arrived
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Brilliant service
(Middlewich) - Posted 2 years ago
I had to phone many times as I didn’t receive an email to confirm my delivery. I was told different reasons for the delay including the truck had broken down. I need to be around when pellets are delivered so it’s important for good communication to take place. The system does not seem to be working as it use too with Forever Fuels. I would order pellets and get an email within a couple of days to confirm a delivery date. This time I ended up calling Balcas to sort out the delivery. I was out of pellets and ended up ordering Balcas brights from Amazon in bags to get me through. I realise I am just a small household customer but I have been la loyal one for many years. Could you look at the system and how it can be made more efficient as it used to be. David, delivery driver is superb and I will be back because he is so good. He is a big asset to Balcas.
(Mistley) - Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jane Thanks for your note and letting us know. We are sorry for the difficulties you experienced. We are looking into what went wrong with your delivery on this occasion and will be in touch. Kind regards The brites Team
Posted 2 years ago
Delivery driver was excellent.
(Middlewich) - Posted 2 years ago
Very poor communication about delivery. I ordered on the 7th Jan and was told delivery would be within 1 - 2 weeks and that I would get a delivery date shortly. I rang about a week later asking for a delivery date - lady said she would chase it up. Then rang again on Tues 22nd to be told still not scheduled and that he would find out for me. Came back in a few minutes with date of 24th - 2 days later. Left with the impression that if I hadn't chased I would still be waiting. The service used to be a lot better.
(Okehampton) - Posted 2 years ago
Christopher, sorry to hear of your negative experience. A member of the team will be in touch if that’s ok? R
Posted 2 years ago
Fast and efficient
(Fishburn) - Posted 2 years ago
On time, clean, tidy no fuss delivery. Driver polite and helpful.
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Your driver (David Osborne) made the difference between providing an acceptable service and providing a very good service. He does his job thoroughly and to a very good standard. Delivery Staff like David give me the customer the confidence to keep ordering from you. I have no doubt that you are proud to have people like David work for you and as a customer it would fantastic if all drivers did their jobs the way David does 👏👏👏
(Mistley) - Posted 2 years ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.75 based on 1,569 reviews