Balcas Energy Reviews

4.75 Rating 1,569 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Balcas Energy
Read Balcas Energy Reviews

About Balcas Energy:

Balcas Energy is part of Balcas, a natural leader in the world of timber.
We opened our first sawmill in 1962 and became one of the largest in the UK and Ireland. Our success came from our knowledge of and respect for timber. In our quest to make the most of every precious tree, Balcas Energy was born.

A co-product of our operations is pure sawdust. In 2004, using natural tree resin as a binder, our engineers pioneered the production of high quality wood pellets.

Originally known as brites, our high grade EN plus pellets have since grown to become 50% of our business. In 2016, Balcas purchased the UK’s largest wood pellet distribution company Forever Fuels and in 2019, with growth in mind, rebranded as Balcas Energy. Balcas Energy is proud to employ some of the most experienced biomass experts in the UK and Ireland and thanks to our advanced Combined Heat and Power plant, both of our production sites are self-sufficient.

Balcas Energy’s Invergordon and Enniskillen sites have production capacities of 100,000 tonnes and 55,000 tonnes of wood pellets respectively. Our operations are so efficient that we put surplus electricity back into the grid throughout the year.

Balcas employs over 380 people and an additional 300 are engaged in forest harvesting and haulage on our behalf.

Visit our Online Shop: https://balcasenergy.com/online-shop/

Visit Website

Phone:

02866411001

Email:

monica.seceleanu@balcas.com

Location:

75 Killadeas Road,Enniskillen,County Fermanagh,

Write Your review

Tell us how Balcas Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
My one star is not for Forever Fuels but for Balcas since they've taken over. Placed my on line order on 24th Jan. Had the usual "thank you for your order email" but then no follow up email with a confirmed date. I phoned them on 28th Jan to be told my delivery was scheduled for Tuesday 5th Feb. I asked if I should do anything now due to the second confirmation email not arriving and the lady told me everything was ok and booked in for that day. After waiting in all day and having no delivery I called them at 3pm and was told there's no one available to deal with my order and that I'd get a call back. I asked if it would be on that day and was told yes. Needless to say no call was received. I've now been told my delivery is due on 7th or 8th Feb but I'm not holding my breath and if it doesn't arrive I shall be without fuel and they will be without my future custom! Very unreliable and that's not what you need when you rely on this fuel for the running of your home.
Posted 2 years ago
Got a call from the driver prior to delivery, I was in London, he was delivering to my home in North Devon, the delivery is complicated, I messaged him instructions, all went very well indeed, polite, efficient, excellent! Thank you.
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Delivery was due between 09-00 and 10-00 finally arrived around 20-00 in pitch dark. Problem was due to a delivery truck being taken out of service for brake maintenance leaving 2 drivers to work together with one truck and still complete all deliveries. The one remaining driver when he reached me did a magnificent job but was under great pressure. It appeared to me a bad and risky decision to carry on instead of rescheduling.
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Excellent
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
As expected, absolutely no problems.
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Polite and considerate driver, phoned the day before and on arrival. Prompt arrival, efficient delivery, careful driving (avoiding grass and drain).
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Mark was very competent and had mad skills turning the truck in our small turning area. He is quite a new member of your team but has a great positive attitude about the job.
Balcas Energy 5 star review on 7th November 2017
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Prompt delivery and friendly driver.
Posted 4 years ago
Reliable an efficient friendly service!
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
I had to phone many times as I didn’t receive an email to confirm my delivery. I was told different reasons for the delay including the truck had broken down. I need to be around when pellets are delivered so it’s important for good communication to take place. The system does not seem to be working as it use too with Forever Fuels. I would order pellets and get an email within a couple of days to confirm a delivery date. This time I ended up calling Balcas to sort out the delivery. I was out of pellets and ended up ordering Balcas brights from Amazon in bags to get me through. I realise I am just a small household customer but I have been la loyal one for many years. Could you look at the system and how it can be made more efficient as it used to be. David, delivery driver is superb and I will be back because he is so good. He is a big asset to Balcas.
(Mistley) - Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jane Thanks for your note and letting us know. We are sorry for the difficulties you experienced. We are looking into what went wrong with your delivery on this occasion and will be in touch. Kind regards The brites Team
Posted 2 years ago
The delivery has been rescheduled 3 times 1) your lorry Broke down and NO PHONE call from your company to advise the delivery was not being completed 2) The second attempt - my housekeeper waited in ALL DAY I then called 4 times to find out where the driver was and i was told the delivery would not take place on that day - we had to call 4 times to find out this information at 4pm in the afternoon 3) Third attempt - successful
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
I don’t understand why this company has such good reviews. Our experience of them has been average at best. Their web ordering service offers fictitious dates that they can never meet. They deliver when it suits them and not when you need fuel. They communicate a cut off date for Christmas deliveries, tell you by phone it will arrive in time but won’t confirm it! I phoned them today and was told my order can’t be delivered until the end of the 1st week of Jan. Over two weeks after they said they could guarantee delivery and 5 weeks after my order was placed.
Posted 2 years ago
Delivery driver on time and very helpful.
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Alex the driver operator was excellent. Tidy and efficient. Thank you
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Delivery as promised, but the website demanded a deposit before accepting my order and then directed me to a page that was unable to accept a deposit. So I lost weekend before being able to phone my order, which was accepted without a deposit, and then found the first available delivery was 10 days later by which time we no longer had any pellets and were cold. So less than happy!
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
Good Afternoon Malcolm I am sorry that your experience with our ordering process was less than satisfactory. We have now fixed the IT issue we had with the payment page of our website. With regards to the lead times, no orders are allocated a delivery date over the weekend. Lead times in the winter are usually a couple of weeks so I would reccomend to plan for this in the future. I am pleased to see that you were happy with the delivery :-) Kindest regards Claire
Posted 2 years ago
Moved my projected date forward a week after I miscalculated and ran out. As always Vic, the delivery driver, was helpful and understanding.
(East Kilbride) - Posted 2 years ago
The driver and the delivery was excellent, but there was a short delivery on my order. Not enough pellets loaded on the lorry. Disappointed 😞
(Avonmouth) - Posted 2 years ago
No problems with actual delivery, just the length of time that elapsed between placing of order and delivery. The pellet shortage perhaps gave you a dilemma but I think drawing attention to it made customers order pellets sooner than they would have done normally thereby exacerbating the situation.It reminded me of times gone by when petrol shortages were announced which resulted in everybody driving around with full tanks of petrol! Also, your "top up" system doesn't seem to work too well. In just over 4 years, we have been "topped up" only once
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Very prompt and efficient!
(Okehampton) - Posted 3 years ago
ff did not make me happy or sad. I was just buying fuel from them
(Middlewich) - Posted 3 years ago
Balcas Energy is rated 4.75 based on 1,569 reviews